top of page

A Walking Shadow

Book One

In 1871, Lillian Nolan accepts a small role in Macbeth, and finally fulfills her dream of becoming an actress. That is until the renowned, but venomous, female star of the production is murdered onstage opening night. When her enraged spirit haunts the theater, Lillian is shocked to discover she can communicate with her. Offered a Faustian bargain in which she will be given talent and expertise way beyond her ability in exchange for uncovering the killer, Lillian can’t resist.


     Her quest for the truth causes her to descend into the Underworld, the den of inequity below the streets of Chicago. What Lillian finds soon embroils her in a battle between her passion for performing and control over her own body as it all plays out in a supernatural game of good and evil.

An engrossing mystery with a touch of the supernatural, A Walking Shadow is a book that will grip readers from the off and keep them mesmerized until the very last full stop. A compelling tale of ambition, revenge, death and desire, A Walking Shadow shocks, delights and tantalizes and will hold readers spellbound as they find themselves consumed by this thrilling and gripping historical mystery.

~ Bookish Jottings

Other Books in The Backstage Mystery Series

Foul Deeds Will Rise

Book Two

Forms of Things Unknown

Book Three

bottom of page